Saint Joseph Hospital General Surgery Residency



  • Teresa S. Gross, MD, MS
    Providence Portland Medical Center – Foregut Fellowship
  • Justin T. Frisenda, DO, LT, MC, USN
    Naval Hospital, Sigonella, Italy
  • Peter F. Layman, DO
    UC San Diego, Vascular Surgery Fellowship
  • Daniel Wilkinson, MD
    University of Pittsburgh – Minimally Invasive Thoracic Fellowship
  • Evan L. Kelly, MD
    Cuyna Regional Medical Center – MIS Fellowship, Cuyna, Minnesota
    University of Louisville ERCP Fellowship

Graduating Chief ResidentsCLASS OF 2020

  • Anthony H. Loewen, MD
    Huron Regional Medical Center (Huron, SD)
  • Drew Albright, DO
    Mohave Surgical Specialists (Kingman, AZ)
  • Timothy J. Van Dyke, MD
    Trauma and Critical Care Fellowship - Cook County (Chicago, IL)
  • Calliandra Hintzen, MD 
    Colorectal Fellowship - Creighton University (Omaha, NE)

Class of 2019

  • Caren Millard, MD
    UC Health (Greeley, CO)
  • Ryan Griffith, MD
    Advanced Laparoscopic and General Surgery (Denver, CO)
  • Colin Price, MD
    Denver Surgical Specialists (Denver, CO)
  • Kyle Thompson, MD
    Advanced GI MIS/Bariatrics/Flexible Endoscopy Fellowship - Minnesota Institute for Minimally Invasive Surgery (Crosby, MN)

Class of 2018

  • Milda Shapiro, DO
    Intermountain Healthcare American Fork Hospital  (Lehigh, UT)
  • Philip Ernest, MD
    San Juan Regional Medical Center  (Farmington, NM)
  • Spencer Hansen, MD
    Fellowship in Vascular Surgery at Baylor University Medical Center  (Dallas, TX)
  • David Bailey, MD
    Keesler Air Force Base Medical Center  (Biloxi, MS)

Class of 2017

  • Frank Bauer, MD
    Fellowship in Trauma and Acute Care Surgery, UT Southwestern Medical Center  (Dallas, TX)
  • Aaron Lynn, MD
    Saint Joseph Hospital  (Denver, CO)
  • Vance Mitchell, MD
    Surgical Specialists of Colorado, SCL Health Lutheran Medical Center  (Wheat Ridge, CO)
  • Albert Youn, MD
    Mora Hospital, Firstlight Heath System  (Mora, MN)

Class of 2016

  • Evan Gillespie, DO
    Colorado Permanente Medical Group  (Denver, CO)
  • Cindi Japhet, MD
    Montrose Memorial Hospital  (Montrose, CO)
  • Scott Golembeski, MD
    Rocky Mountain Surgical Associates, Rose Medical Center  (Denver, CO)
  • Kyle Marthaller, MD
    Boulder Memorial Hospital  (Boulder, CO)

Class of 2015

  • Caitlin Gade-McCarthy, MD
    Celilo Surgical Specialists at Mid Columbia Medical Center  (The Dalles, OR)
  • Aaron Guercio, MD
    Intermountain Healthcare, Cassia Regional Medical Center  (Burley, ID)
  • Derek Leopold, MD
    Longmont Clinic  (Longmont, CO)
  • Barbara Melendez, MD
    Fellowship in Vascular Surgery, Albany Medical Center  (Albany, NY)

Sign up for our e-newsletter!

Get tips to help you manage your family's health, options to boost your fitness and advice to live your best life.